stories to howl about

Volunteer Larry Jewell receives Harrison Award

Larry Jewel

Volunteer Larry Jewel models the pioneer garb he often sports at Campfire Wolf Howls.

Larry Jewell, a longtime volunteer at the Endangered Wolf Center, was honored as recipient of the 2016 Harrison Award for extraordinary contributions to the Center.

Endangered Wolf Center visitors see evidence of his contributions on every visit: The wood signs that give directions and identify buildings are his handiwork. He also is a frequent host (dressed in pioneer garb) of Campfire Wolf Howls and has served as the gate keeper and greeter for many years at Wolf Fest, the Center’s annual open house.

The Harrison Award was initiated in 2015, when it was given to its namesake, PJ Harrison, herself a longtime volunteer and former member and officer of the Endangered Wolf Center Board of Trustees.

Jewell was named the 2016 recipient during the Center’s annual Volunteer Appreciation Dinner, held Sunday evening April 10 at Shaw Nature Reserve’s Dana Brown Overnight Center in Gray Summit, Missouri.

A sign was unveiled honoring the five volunteers who donated the most hours in 2015:

  • Gail Meyers (1,026)
  • Debbie Yauch (452.5)
  • Michelle Steinmeyer (425.5)
  • Sue Berra (357)
  • Karen Zelle (246.75)

Eight volunteers received five-year service pins:  Deborah Coleman, Steve Johnson, Charlie Meyers, Sandy O’Shaughnessy, Tim O’Shaughnessy, Steve Thomas, Jack Webb and Sharon Weber.

Twelve volunteers were awarded one-year service pins:  Angela Ewing,  Jamie Gann, Katie Lucas, Zach Meier, Cathryn Moore, Michelle Musto, Scott Rice, Abby Uphoff, Cecelia Virgili,  John Wagner, Lee Walters and Karen Zelle

Deborah Coleman and Renee Meier received “Wolf Pins” marking 1,000 hours of volunteer service.

Four volunteers received “Fox Pins” marking 500 hours of service: Sue Berra, Lydia Nichols, Doris Perry and Sharon Weber.

In total, volunteers donated 8,353 hours in 2015. Junior Volunteers (ages 14 to 17), under the supervision of Youth Programs Coordinator Maggie McCoy, gave 1,051 hours in 2015.

The 2016 Volunteer Appreciation Dinner was attended by 46 volunteers, Board Member Diane Maixner and 15 members of the Endangered Wolf Center staff.  Leslie Valdez, who was Volunteer Coordinator at the time of the dinner; Executive Director Virginia Busch; and Director of Animal Care and Conservation Regina Mossotti addressed the volunteers and thanked them for their service.

The Center is deeply appreciative of Shaw Nature Reserve’s generosity in providing the location for this annual event.


The plaque honoring Larry Jewell includes a painting by one of the maned wolves at the Center.